The Witches of Dark Root: Book One in The Daughters of Dark Root Series (Volume 1)

by April Aasheim

Deep in the forests of the Pacific Northwest is a small village called Dark Root, a town steeped in magic, mystery, and secrets. But for Maggie Maddock, Dark Root is also a prison – a place where she is forced to work in her mother’s Magick Shoppe while the rest of the world moves forward without her. When a mysterious stranger offers to take Maggie away from it all, she leaves without looking back. 

Seven years later, Maggie is called home by her beloved older sister. There she is confronted with a renewed sibling rivalry, a mother suffering under a mysterious illness, and a town that’s lost its literal magic. Now Maggie must decide if she will use her newfound abilities to aid those she loves or run from her responsibilities once again.

The Magick of Dark Root: Daughters of Dark Root, Book 2

by April Aasheim

“There are rules that must be followed, Maggie.”

“Even in witchcraft?”

“Especially in witchcraft. What someone puts into the world comes back to them.”

“You mean karma?”

“Like karma, yes. But for a witch it comes back threefold. Never forget that.”

“That doesn’t seem fair.”

“Who said life was fair?”

In the second installment of The Daughters of Dark Root series, Maggie Maddock and her sisters are back, training under their coven-leading mother Miss Sasha Shantay to take over as the new leaders of The Council. But life isn’t as smooth as Maggie had hoped it would be. Harvest Home’s taxes have come due, and her mother’s illness has returned, stronger than ever.

Desperate, Maggie and Eve devise a scheme to make money through witchcraft. And that’s when things go terribly wrong.

The Curse of Dark Root: Part One: Daughters of Dark Root

I inspected the small glass orb in my hand and read the words engraved upon its mantle: Dark Root, Oregon, 1968.

“Jillian, there’s nothing inside,” I said, shaking the globe.

“You must view it before you go to sleep. The memory it contains will come to you in your dreams.”

“What will I see?” I asked, staring deep into the crystal ball.

“Secrets, Maggie. Secrets that should have come out long ago.”

In the third installment of The Daughters of Dark Root series, Maggie’s life is endangered by a malicious curse. Her only chance at saving herself and the life of her unborn child is to reveal the memories kept within a set of crystal globes. They alone hold the key to Dark Root’s secret past, and who she really is. This is a stand alone novel and should be listened to after The Witches of Dark Root and The Magick of Dark Root.

Heart of the Hurricane

Heart of the Hurricane

By May Woodworth

After a recent divorce, Niki retreats to a cottage in Nova Scotia that she inherited from her grandmother, Eliza, and great aunt Johanna. With her teenage daughter, Melissa, in tow, Niki struggles with decisions of what to do next and whether or not an entire career change is in order. At the cottage she discovers her grandmother’s diary and is whisked back into the past, into Eliza and Johanna’s world during the Great August Gales of Nova Scotia, casting a light on her own life she never saw coming.


Extraordinary: Rough Passages, Book 1

by K. M. Herkes

A trip to the traveling carnival with two toddlers and a mobility-challenged parent isn’t most people’s definition of fun, but it’s closer than Valerie Wade usually gets. A few hours kicking sawdust and revisiting favorite childhood memories, that’s all she asks.

It’s her annual treat, a visit back in time to the carefree years before she learned that her blood carries a potential death sentence, before life beat her down and broke her spirit. It’s the one place where she can forget about secrets, debts and obligations for a few hours and remember what hope feels like.

Everything changes that night, under the bright lights and the striped awnings. The monsters and freaks aren’t in the sideshow tents. They’re walking the aisles, and before the carnival is done, Valerie will be taking her place among them.


Powerhouse: Rough Passages, Book 2

by K. M. Herkes

Colonel Marcia Galloway’s job is a challenge on the best of days. She leads Mercury Battalion, a military unit that offers sanctuary to society’s deadliest members.

When a slip in concentration can level buildings or kill thousands, survival depends on self-control. On the worst of days, when discipline breaks and chaos erupts, Marcia is the one who picks up the pieces and punishes the guilty.

Once upon a time, a midlife crisis was a personal thing. These days it can lead to fires, floods, earthquakes, or plagues. For the unlucky few, midlife means starting over with a new body, new abilities, and new responsibilities.